Baby Spiders Just Hatched Out

As I craned my neck to see what on earth that round yellow thing was, peering out from behind the blanket of grey cloud, I noticed two blobs of, well, could be mud, but I don’t remember anyone having a mud fight recently. Could be lichens, or a type of moss which grows quickly in these saturated conditions.

Then I took a closer look. The two blobs were moving – baby spiders. They must just have hatched out in the brief moment of sunshine.

We get some spectacular spiders living in the corners of our windows and from inside the house you get a spectacular view of them making their webs but I have never seen anything quite like this.

I scrabbled around for the camera and was glad I didn’t wait. They were gone within half an hour. Where to? God only knows. But they’ll make a good feed for the finches and swallows that are nesting just now.

Only hope they didn’t come in on the bananas!

2 thoughts on “Baby Spiders Just Hatched Out”

Leave a Reply

